Not Future?

Jeremiah 31:31-34

31                   “Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah,

32                   not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the LORD.

33                   But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

34                   And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

In a passage detailing the character and benefits of the New Covenant – it was mentioned that it will different form the Mosaic covenant because of three things:

  1. His law will be living in their hearts. It is written in their hearts.
  2. Each member will experience intimacy and knowledge of the Lord.
  3. Their sins will be forgiven-an no longer remembered. This is justification.

A distinguished Reformed teacher –Dr Pratt affirmed except the 2nd-saying that this points to the need for teachers which is still in current need until now. And so he deducted that this prophesy will be fully fulfilled at the end of time. How he can interpret this –without ignoring the surrounding contexts which speaks of current blessings within the New Covenant under Jesus? For the new covenant was inaugurated by the death of Jesus Christ and symbolize by the bread and the wine:

Matthew 26

28 for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Mark 14

24 And he said to them, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many.

Luke 22

20 And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood.

And as for the Law and His presence in the lives of New Covenant believers-

Hebrews 10:10-13

10                   For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the Lord: I will put my laws into their minds, and write them on their hearts, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

11                   And they shall not teach, each one his neighbor and each one his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest.

12                   For I will be merciful toward their iniquities, and I will remember their sins no more.”

13                   In speaking of a new covenant, he makes the first one obsolete. And what is becoming obsolete and growing old is ready to vanish away.

And as well as the Lord and Aposttle John mentioned regarding teachers:

Matthew 23: 8-10

8  But you are not to be called rabbi, for you have one teacher, and you are all brothers.And call no man your father on earth, for you have one Father, who is in heaven.  10   Neither be called instructors, for you have one instructor, the Christ.

1 John 2: 26-27

26                   I write these things to you about those who are trying to deceive you. 27                    But the anointing that you received from him abides in you, and you have no need that anyone should teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about everything, and is true, and is no lie—just as it has taught you, abide in him.

 Clearly this is a present reality –not waiting for an Israelite kingdom to be installed at Palestine or for eternity to come. If they will push this to the end-consistent hermeneutics will also entail that the forgiveness of sins and abiding presence of the Holy Spirit is still future. But what does Scripture says:

Galatians 3

2 Let me ask you only this: Did you receive the Spirit by works of the law or by hearing with faith?

3 Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?

Galatians 5

18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

The Holy Spirit is one of the benefits of the New Covenant which was limited under the Law of Moses.

For Jesus must be born within that covenant:

4                      But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law,

5                    to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons.

And so after His death –the New Covenant is now in force:

15                   Therefore he is the mediator of a new covenant, so that those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance, since a death has occurred that redeems them from the transgressions committed under the first covenant.

16                   For where a will is involved, the death of the one who made it must be established.

17                   For a will takes effect only at death, since it is not in force as long as the one who made it is alive.

One response to “Not Future?

  1. Webster’s Bible Translation But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Leave a Reply

