Got to be a Long Weekend (October 15-19, 2009)

It is kind of busy week. Starting last Thursday-the Men in Powerhouse (MIP) visited me and my family together with their wives. We have a simple late night merienda of pansit and some barbeque.

IMG_0176

We have simple bible studies discussing from some scriptures if people experience the absence of God. My answer to the question is that I no longer  doubted God’s existence-but only if what He thinks is good for me-is in the immediate or the current is pleasant experience or good in my perspective. Bro Val narrated his experience where his father was the in-patient of St. Luke’s Hospital for 1.5 years and then died afterwards. Most of his salary and life savings were gone because of that.

I said at the office-we always makes the newbie try the hard stuff so we can see how he can handle and if he really have the right stuff. When he keeps failing-we either helped them or re-assigned other jobs which we can handle. I am not sure if this is the same way God sees it. I also said that I was not able to really answer it-but found comfort in the absurdity of the death of His Son-who was the most righteous person who lived and yet died a criminal or sinners death. Forsaken by God-yethe justified many.

Based on the question of Bro Mar-regarding election which he applied to the members of Pacita Bible Baptist church-especially their smugness-Pastor Ed gave his mediating opinion (between Arminius and Calvin) that though real Christians really don’t fall away from salvation-no man is reprobated-and thus the Lord is willing to elect all men in Christ. It is man who chooses not to be elected. Me-without correcting this erroneous and still Arminian position, pointed our that based Colossians 3:12- the elect or chosen of God must reflect humility and not pride. For we are chosen in him, in Christ-so we cannot really boast of anything-except to boast the election of Jesus first. It is also possible that in Jesus -all men are elected- like the opinion of Barth-since Jesus worth and his death is able to pay the sins of all men-if he intended it in his eternal will and purpose. But we cannot look at election nakedly. It is always in the mirror that shows how Christ suffered-even when he does not merit such death. I also mentioned that in the Canons of Dordt which was the source of the historical five points of Calvinism-it mentioned that election is not of the same weight or ultimacy as that reprobation. Hell was prepared for the devil and his angels-not for unbelieving men. And thought source of election is God’s favor-the source of election is men’s unbelief.

Then by Saturday -I was included in the Powerhouse Annual Vision weekend. I even presented a 10 minutes talk regarding the importance of core values-which was excerpted from my  experience with my utility company. Later in the afternoon we have symbolic end of the day eating of black forest cake from Red Ribbon.

IMG_0193

Sunday: I am in the second installment for the Junior High of San Pedro CRC of my series regarding Election and Covenant in the life of Abraham-especially Gen 12:1-20-God called him. Then after the worship service -Rayuel and I returned back around 2:30 pm and attended the zone youth  fellowship of 5 churches affiliated with CRCP.

IMG_0250

It started late and dull but it picked up speed in the end-especially with the games, special numbers from Bulihan CRC and Emmanuel Christian Church. I  left SPCRC around 5:30 pm to get my 2 kids from the barbershop.

IMG_0285

Leave a Reply

