My Mid-life Crisis

Sometime in 2005, I experienced my mid-life crisis.

Wikipedia defines it as “is a term used in Western societies to describe a period of dramatic self-doubt that is felt by some individuals in the “middle years” of life, as a result of sensing the passing of youth and the imminence of old age.” And…”The result may be a desire to make significant changes in core aspects of day to day life or situation, such as in career, marriage, or romantic relationships.”

My desire for music and related activities heightened and an unfortunate development- I was supposed to be mentoring and also leading to Christ a 27-years old woman-co employee at Sta Rosa, Laguna. However, without commiting adultery or any physical contact- I was drawn more and more to my co-employee. We texted a lot and discuss a lot of our work, our interest in literature, music (alternative) that I did not realized that it is threatening my relationship with my wife and even my children.

After countless nights and arguing-we finally decided to end any conversation or any communication with the girl so that we can go on with our lives and live peacefully.

It did not end the way I thought it should-but by the grace of God-It ended my quicksand to a ‘blackhole’ relationship with a woman who needs a lot of assistance and guidance. She also did not commit to the Lord. Not just because of this situation but because of her intellectual, moral and feminist agendas.

Leave a Reply

